Post #1 {because I can’t think of a good title & if I keep waiting to figure one out, I may never post anything}

25 Feb

You have no idea how hard this was for me to press publish.

Really. Hard.

The reason is because I want to have that beautiful, cool looking blog. Right from the beginning. With my first post. I just couldn’t imagine posting anything publicly if my blog isn’t totally completed.  If my pictures weren’t sized correctly.  If it wasn’t just Perfect. And it doesn’t help that I have no idea how to resize photos or upload whatever or format this & that.

This is a reoccuring theme in my life…If I can’t do it right away just how I want it, I won’t do it at all.

So, you know this quote?


Just the other day as I was sweeping my garage,  I had an ah-ha moment. I bet you didn’t know that sweeping your garage can really channel some deep thoughts and personal reflection. Well, it does. You should try it. Anyway,  I realized that with many things in my life, I only want the destination. I want to skip everything, skip the process so I can get to the end and be done. But be done with what exactly?

I would completely miss the journey. I would miss the evolution of me.

Whoa, this is all getting a little too deep for me.

But do you see what I’m saying?

So, I was recently talking to a couple of new friends about blogs. They said some good stuff.

One said, “Just start…start small.” Or something like. Short,sweet, and to the point. So here I am people. I am starting. I’m starting on this journey. Not starting with the destination.  I’m doing it anyway!

The other one said something about how blogs always show the best side of the people who write them. And it’s true. I look at blogs and the {usually} women who write them and I think to myself

oh, she has the perfect family

or

wow, she is so beautiful,

and even

holy cow, she made pink homemade pancakes in the shape of hearts outlined with strawberries and topped with a syrup smiley face for her kids on Valentine’s morning.

I think mine got the cereal crumbs.

So in an effort to be completely transparent and myself, the whole self and nothing but myself…this is how my day began…

Don’t be distracted by the messy counter top. I couldn’t figure out how to crop this thing!

Anyway, there I am. This is EXACTLY what you would have seen if you met me and my kids at the bus stop this morning. I’m not joking.

When I got home and caught a glance in the mirror, I first thought about how nasty my hair was, but then I thought of someone I kind of resembled… a someone kinda famous… a real smarty pants if you ask me.

Do you see it? The hair? We have the same hair! And mine would totally look like his if I didn’t have a date with Clairol every month.

So there you have it. The beginning of me (or at least on this blog), mistakes, small photos, ugly hair and all. Come along for the ride. And you know, if you follow this blog, you just might be following a genius. Just sayin’.

18 Responses to “Post #1 {because I can’t think of a good title & if I keep waiting to figure one out, I may never post anything}”

  1. Kate Barton February 25, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    First of all I love you! Second, I feel the exact same way! I started a blog on word press but got bogged down in not knowing, I have done nothing for months. I have a name and I think of posts all the time. Then I go into the deep doldrums and think, “who will read it anyway?” Well girlfriend, you are MY inspiration! Maybe my first post will be about YOU, complete with a certain video! Tee her, only with your permission of course.

    I just love, I’m so proud of you for being so BRAVE and I CANNOT wait to see you again! I feel like we are long lost friends, just finding each other again!

    • amberomega February 25, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      Do it! I thought the same thing about ‘who will read it’ and Melody just said ‘Just start. They will find you.’ and plus, really Who Cares?! It’s kind of fun to do even if no one ever sees it. But you know you’ll have The Sisterhood following you every single post!

  2. Mikel Lyman February 25, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    Amber…. what a lesson. I am a perfectionist letting go also. Way to GO! Do it anyways and you know what I think it looks awesome! Cant wait to keep following you. Much Love Mikel!

    • amberomega February 25, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks Mikel! Learning to let go isn’t always easy, but at least we’re trying 🙂

  3. patrice longmire February 25, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Could I actually be your very first comment??? I sure hope so! Anyway, I am so very proud of you for doing this. For letting us see you… really you… Not always easy but always beautiful! I am so excited to get to know you better and watch your growth in this little space we shall call your blog! You is smart. You is beautiful. You is important!!! Enjoy your weekend sweet brave girl!

    • amberomega February 25, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      Love you Patrice. You inspire me.

  4. Rachel February 25, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Congrats! Love that you did it, started it! Can’t wait to see how it/you grows! Love you!

    • amberomega February 25, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

      You are a big reason why I started it, so Thank You! Can’t wait to follow yours too, Rach-ology 🙂

  5. Judy Nadler February 25, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    You rock! Can’t wait to read more of your blog posts. I can actually hear your voice and see your smile as I read, and that is the sign of an outstanding blog (trust me, I read zillions of them for work and for fun). Oh, and your fantastic laugh comes through, too.
    So……………you did it! And you did great. Woo hoo for you!!!!!

    • amberomega February 25, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Thank you Judy! Those are such kind words. I miss crafting next to you!

  6. Camille McClelland February 25, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    I love you so much…. and I can tell already your blog is going to be fantastic! Xo

    • amberomega February 25, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      Love you too Cam! So glad I saw your blog address. I couldn’t remember it exactly except the hot mama part…because that is what you are!!! Holla!

  7. cre8tivgrl February 25, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    OK, so I commented via my phone and it must not have posted…so I’ll retype it…or not…I heck I don’t know where it went and it WAS your FIRST comment..ugh.

    Anyway, your post completely resonated with me….I am the exact same way…well, I don’t wear my hair like that, nor do I go to the bus stop, but I don’t start ANYTHING because like you, if it can’t be perfect I just figure “then why do it?” right? I’m thinking that might be part of the reason I don’t finish things….I either am waiting to start (when EVERYTHING falls in place) OR I jump in and then figure “if I can’t keep it going perfectly” then quit…so you’ve inspired me Ms Amber! I started mine too…but you are farther along than I…I can’t figure out how to make it pretty…and yes, that part is what bugs me, I should know this, I have a design bkgd right? (I’m more versed in print vs e) owell.

    CONGRATS, love it..and I totally mean to LINK to you..so I’ll go try that now! 🙂

    • amberomega February 26, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      Your first comment was posted on the about page. I got it. Saw your blog and so excited for you!

  8. kara f. February 26, 2012 at 3:12 am #

    right on funkified, genuine, loving lady!!!!!!!!!!!!!! loved this post- appreciate your honesty (;
    and just so dang-nab proud of you stepping’ out and flying!!!!!! (((((hug)))))). miss u brave one!
    and I will treasure out talk into the wee hrs of the a.m. that last night. for always. (: love you amber!!!

  9. Michelle B. February 26, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    I’m so excited that you are taking this brave leap! You are an inspiration. Love you so much!!!

  10. Wright March 12, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Love the morning photo! “If I can’t do it right away just how I want it, I won’t do it at all.” – definitely something I struggle with as well. The day-at-a-time creation of a blog seems a good way to work past the perfectionism problem though.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging Challenge « amberomega - March 5, 2012

    […] it doesn’t have to be pretty and perfectly set up. You can read about my issues with that here. Just get signed up and start […]

Leave a Reply

