you is…

27 Feb

I loved this book. And I mean loved it!

I have no idea why I am talking in past tense when I still very much adore it – as in one of my all time favorite books.

A while after I read the book and saw that it was being made into a movie, I was nervous. I wasn’t sure I would want to see it. Too many times I have read a book and then watched the movie made from it, and the movie  just doesn’t quite live up to the way it played out in my head.

Our own imaginations are truly the greatest movies when reading a book.

I don’t even like reading a book where the cover has the movie actors or scenes from the film on it. I don’t want anything tainting the way in which I imagine a character or setting by the author’s description. And I don’t ever want to know too much about a book before I read it. I want it to be a surprise! Like slowly unwrapping a present. Or peeling away layers of an onion. No, more like the present.

Anyone else feel this way? Or is it just me?

I think it all stems from my mother. I remember her telling me the reason she didn’t like MTV was because she didn’t want us to be told what a song was about by watching a video. She wanted us to intrepret the meaning for ourselves. Use our own imagination. For all I know she could have totally made that up because really, she just didn’t want us watching trash that demoralizes women, but whatever the reason, I bought it.

And I fully agree.

Back to the book. Because it was so dear, I was hesitant to go see it when it came out. That dilemma was solved when my husband surprised me with a date night.

There I was…sitting in the theater…like it, or not.

Like it, doesn’t even come close.

(And I didn’t bring enough kleenex!)

Not only was it just as good as the book,  dare I say…it might even be better?

Did I just say that?!

Last night as I watched the Oscars, I was rooting for The Help.

I was thrilled that Octavia Spencer won for best supporting actress playing the role of Minny.

Though I love Meryl Streep, I feel like Viola Davis was robbed.

And of course, it should have taken the Oscar for Best Picture.

Oh well.

In both the book and the movie, the relationship that moved me most was the one between Aibileen and little Mae Mobley.

Aibileen knew the power of words. She knew that sweet little Mae Mobley was going to grow up hearing lies from the world around her…and believing them. Even from those who loved her most.  Aibileen  knew she needed to instill truth into that little girl as best she could.

These three simple sentences speak volumes of love, encouragement, and self-worth.

I tear up every time I think of them.

And don’t you forget…

yes you, beautiful soul who is reading this…

you is

AMAZING!

13 Responses to “you is…”

  1. Kate Barton February 27, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Love it, love it, love!

    Watching Mae Mobley cry as Aibileen leaves just breaks my heart!

    I felt Viola was robbed as well. Of all the contenders, I really didn’t think Streep was even #2.

    We were bummed that Hugo won so many awards, it looks so weird!

    • amberomega February 27, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Seriously. I know Meryl is an amazing actress, but c’mon!

      And I must live in a hole because I had never even heard of Hugo before last night.

  2. Judy February 27, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    You’re on a roll…keep it up!
    You should also invite people to subscribe to your blog. It’s fun to see where they all come from/

  3. patrice longmire February 27, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Loved the book. Loved the movie. Love you more!
    Your blog is so sweet and fun… just like you. Glad you are diving in with your whole heart! I think I want to meet your sweet husband and the darling kiddos! And Magellan is his name. Cause when he was little he traveled very fast and explored every nook and cranny! Bring the kids and come on over he will be awake very soon.

    • amberomega February 29, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      oh How I wish I could hop on a plane to visit you and your tortoise. I think I might be avoiding airplanes for a while as I am very fearful of taking my 2 year old little boy on one. Not so much for my sake, but for the rest of the passengers!

  4. fbeedesign February 28, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    and you is … perfect!! (though I did find the book to be much better…I enjoyed the movie). I agree that I don’t have a clue as to what “Hugo” is all about….
    Lovin’ the blog sweet Amber!!! Keep up the good work…:-)

    • amberomega February 29, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      I think enough time had lapsed from when I read the book to seeing the movie, that I didn’t remember all the details of the book. But usually the book is always better. Thanks for your sweet words 🙂

  5. kara f. February 29, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    ahhhh….my oldest girls and I saw this movie together. (: the relationships….I loved.
    ‘you is enough’ (: sparkly, loving, zany amber.
    miss you SO!!!! ((((hug))))
    and go Octavia and Viola and Emma and Jessica!!!!

  6. cre8tivgrl March 4, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Don’t judge. I still haven’t seen this and I”m just not a book reader..I WISH I was…but I enjoy ready blogs much more! I think I need to rent this this week….awesome post!

    • amberomega March 4, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      I love reading books (and blogs too!), but don’t make time for it much. But DO rent this movie! It’s true to the book and you will love it.

  7. Kim Ravenscroft March 8, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    hey my little firecracker friend, love this post. actually I love all your posts, you really have the gift of the gab (a way with words/master of speaking). you and suz have inspired to get my blog up and rolling again, so, this weekend I’m gunna spend some time preppin it up and i’ll let everyone now on facebook. miss you girl, so much. keep the blogs rolling, i love being able to keep in touch this way.

Leave a Reply

