The Secret is Out

3 Mar

I want my kids to take good naps.

No, I need my kids to take good naps.

For my sanity and their safety.

So the other day as I was driving, I glanced in the rear-view mirror and saw that my little dude was starting to fade.

I had to act fast!

If he falls asleep in the car, he does not transfer well into his crib. And we were only minutes away from the house.

He needed a distraction. Something to keep his interest. To keep him awake for a few. minutes. longer.

With my eyes still on the road, I reached over to the passenger seat and grabbed the first thing I could get my hands on.

I called his name and threw whatever-I-had-grabbed at him.

I heard the sound of pages turning.

Sweet! It’s working.

Smiling to myself {since I had such a brilliant solution and all}, I glanced back to check on my little man…

Ummm…

OK, not my finest parenting moment…but hey, at least it kept him awake.

Mission accomplished.

10 Responses to “The Secret is Out”

  1. Juls March 3, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    AWSOME! I’ve been known to blast the radio. Perhaps that’s why they never seem to hear me. 🙂

  2. Gina March 3, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    That is awesome!!!!

    • amberomega March 4, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      When I first saw him holding it, I was horrified, but then thought it was pretty hilarious!

  3. Sally Peterson March 4, 2012 at 3:01 am #

    Nice!!!!

  4. hazelsgirl March 4, 2012 at 5:46 am #

    So funny! you are a natural:)

  5. cre8tivgrl March 4, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    haha! LOVE IT!!!

  6. Judy Nadler March 4, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Did he pick out your Mother’s Day gift? So much to choose from!

  7. Janet March 5, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Funny, Amber. Sure seems to have gotten his attention!

Leave a Reply

