Southern Sundays

12 Mar

Has anyone else watched this new show on ABC?

It’s called GBC

{Good Christian Belles or Good Christian somethin’-that-rhymes-with-witches}

It takes place in Dallas, Texas.

About well, a bunch of housewives, wealthy women, you know… the same old story.

I really wanted to watch the pilot last Sunday. You know, to see if it would be any good. To see if I should commit an hour each week to this highly mental stimulating show.

After watching it, I thought it was just a little too much. Too many obnoxious characters, too much christian stuff, just over-the-top.

But then again, isn’t that Texas for ya?

So this week, I thought I’d watch it again. Give it another try.

It was still over the top, but I laughed {again}. At the end of the show, the story line got kind of serious and my husband says, “Well, maybe there is a good message in this show after all.” Maybe, but I doubt it. Oh, did I forget to mention that he has been watching these with me? Yup, he’s great like that.

There are a lot of stereotypes in this show. But after living in Texas, I know some of these to be true. Some. Not all. So yeah, I thought it was a funny show. Do other people think that as well? I’m curious to know.

It got me thinking about how I have lived in the south for over 10 years. I remember when I first moved to Texas and the culture shock I experienced.  Then we moved to Charleston and that was a whole different kind of southern culture. Nashville seems the most mild so far, but I think I may be heading into the deep south if we move down to Birmingham. {Lord help me!}

After living here for over a decade,  there are some things I can’t remember if “normal” here was “normal” on the west coast. And I recently have realized that things I used to be surprised or shocked by no longer do.  Accents don’t make me giggle anymore. I know what “fixin’ to” and “all y’all” mean. I have tried and do not like grits. There are way too many bugs here. Monograms everywhere. And smocking…oh, the smocking.

All that to say…I do love it here.

In honor of GCB, I thought I might take the next few Sundays to tell you a little about this place I call home…

The South.

**********

One of the very first things that I was surprised by was something that actually happens on Sundays. Yes, church of course. Duh. But I was reminded of this today when I wanted to head over to Hobby Lobby to pick up a couple of craft supplies.

Doh! Closed on Sundays!

I couldn’t believe that a big chain crafting store was actually closed on Sundays!

Then, to make matters worse… Chick-fil-a.

This video says it all.

There are a few other stores that I can’t think of off the top of my head, but still, more stores were closed on Sundays than I was used to.

Even though it might be an inconvenience to me, I am glad they do it. I’ve got six other days to shop and eat chicken sandwiches. I think I’ll survive.

5 Responses to “Southern Sundays”

  1. Blair March 12, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I saw the preview and didn’t know what GCB stood for. Matt told me it was “Girl CowBoys”. Oops. Maybe I’ll tune in? Its kinda late….maybe I’ll find it on Hulu. So just started watching Downton Abbey on Netflix after hearing everyone talk about it on FB. Its good so far. You should check it out! I now have a British accent that speaks on the thoughts that go through my head. TMI?

    • amberomega March 12, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      I started to watch Downtown Abbey, but then Hayden joined me and couldn’t understand anything they were saying cause of the accents. He kept asking “what did they just say?” over and over. So I turned it off and we watched Arrested Development instead.

  2. Kate Barton March 12, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    Funny, I lived in Dallas for 6 years and I tuned into GCB too. Mostly for Kristen Chenoweth, she plays Carlene (Kitty) but also because I used to live there and babysat for some of those kids from the “bubble” as we called it. Dallas has another mini city right in the middle of it called Highland Park, that is where this little show takes place.

    I agree, it is over the top and I am not sure it will last, but it is kinda fun.

    As for Hobby Lobby, I agree, it drives me nuts that it is closed on Sundays! So it isn’t just the south, it is closed here too.

    Love you girlie! Love your observations on life!

    • amberomega March 12, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

      Yes, yes, I have heard about Highland Park. Did you have big hair when you lived there? I can kind of picture you with a sweet do 😉

  3. fbeedesign March 12, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Growing up in Texas…is very much like the show! I did find it entertaining…(now that I don’t live there anymore!!) We will be going to Alabama but I know from visiting often, that there is still ‘society’ issues (when we were there at Christmas I was taken aback by a relative looking down her nose at someone who was written up in a society page “because if you’re IN the ‘real’ society, you aren’t in ANY of the publications”!!)… I like GBC because it is entertaining while showing how ridiculous we can be when we get stuck!!

    As for Hobby Lobby…I think sometimes we’re a bit spoiled with store openings on Sundays here in the United States. When we lived in Germany, the only places open were restaurants (sit-down) and you were breaking a secret code of decency if you worked in your yard on a Sunday!! Growing up in TX … Bible Belt… we couldn’t find beer or alcohol at grocery stores and if you did, you definitely COULD NOT buy it on Sundays! (That’s still in effect in a lot of places)…

    And as for the big hair…If you didn’t have it, paired with the right clothes and makeup and friends…well, I don’t even want to talk about it…..LOL!!! Thank goodness we grow up and evolve…and can be entertained by our ‘society’….

    Love your musings Amber!! Thanks for giving me a smile!!

Leave a Reply

