I’m a poet & I didn’t even know it

12 Apr

One of the biggest lessons I learned last year was that I truly am not in control of my life. Yes, I make decisions and yes, I do have choices. But ultimately, I believe that there is a master artist, a great storyteller, a loving Creator that is painting and writing the best piece we will ever know.

I have never written a poem in my life. Well, maybe a haiku or two {hee hee}.  But about a month ago, I was journaling and just started writing words down. About 15 minutes later I was reading this on the page in front of me…

My Surrender

Here I stand, all alone, waving my white flag,

barely able to hold it up, but finally feeling glad.

I wave it not out of defeat but a yielding kind of way,

knowing that from here on out, I’m not alone each day.

I’m following my Leader, because I know, that He knows best;

before, when trying to plan life myself, I only thought of my interest.

I would said, “Yes, I believe.” But did I really trust?

And then He said, “living for ME and not for self, is going to be a must,

if you want to be a part of my great big plan…

serve me, do for me, and not for the praises of man.”

So here I am, flag in hand, and choosing to remember,

that every morning when I wake, I must stand & wave my surrender.

4 Responses to “I’m a poet & I didn’t even know it”

  1. hazelsgirl April 12, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    So moving!

  2. patrice longmire April 13, 2012 at 1:49 am #

    Good thing to learn…. I seem to have to learn it over and over and over and over again….. Miss you sweet dear girl!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Facebook Fasting {update} « amberomega - June 12, 2012

    […] in my fuzzy head through the emotions and tears. Surrender…oh yeah. I forgot about that. My word this year. Let go…hands up…white flag […]

Leave a Reply

