Summer is here already? {yay & yikes!}

23 May

Tomorrow is my girls’ last day of school! I kinda can’t believe how fast the school year went.  I have been looking forward to this day for a while now…well, mostly looking forward to sleeping in, swimming, having all four kids home together, hanging out with my daughters, sleeping in.  But as it is quickly approaching, I am also starting to fear that…I won’t be able to sleep in (thanks to my 2 year old), my kids getting sunburned at the pool, all four kids home together, my daughters’ constant fighting, and that I won’t be able to sleep in.

I am realizing that I need to be a little better prepared for the days ahead. Most of the time I am a “fly by the seat of your pants” kind of girl, but sometimes that just doesn’t work out so well around here. If I’m not proactive, the day can go south real fast…whining, fighting…which turns into mom yelling {or hiding in the bathroom}…you know what I’m talking about.

So I’ve been trying to brainstorm a little to see what we can do this summer. I’m not gonna get all gung-ho about keeping them busy 24/7, because we need a little lazy around here…that’s what summer is all about, right?

So far this is what I’ve got:

Source: google.com via Amy on Pinterest

**

Reading: yup, just cause they are out of school, I ain’t gonna let ’em get totally stupid. Maybe just a little. And as great as it sounds to be part of the library reading program, I am such a slacker mom that I never actually take my kids to turn the paper in to receive the big prize: a plastic medal and a coupon for french fries. Um, no thanks.

Source: flickr.com via Brian on Pinterest

**

Creating & Art: I recently turned our basement into a little art studio and every supply is easily accessible {still shocked my 2 year old hasn’t poured paint everywhere}! I have been coming up with some little projects my girls can do, in case i get the “but mooommm, I don’t know what to make…” I’ve tried to record some little tutorials on the computer for them showing them how to do some of the things since it’s difficult to do that type of thing when little West is around, but so far, I’ve recorded them without audio. I stink at computer stuff.  But anyway, hopefully, something will spark their little creative minds and get them working again.

Source: lilluna.com via Bessie on Pinterest

**

Lemonade Stand: I know at some point they will ask for this or that and I’m sure I’ll hear that they really really need such & such. So, if they want it, they can buy it…with their own money. We’ve got a great little lemonade stand and a neighborhood pool that will bring them some great business 🙂

**

Catching Fireflies: Who doesn’t love doing this?! It’s one of my most favorite things about summer! Plus, my mason jar obession will be put to great use.

**

So that is about all I’ve got so far. Any and all suggestions are welcome!

Please keep in mind that it’s HOT & humid here in the summer. So outdoor activities are only good in the early morning or at night {except that’s when the mosquitoes are out}.  And nothing right in the middle of the day, cause my kids get BURNED, thanks to their father’s fair skin. We still have a napper and a half, so it’s best we are home by 1pm or else mama may go crazy by 5pm. Oh, and I’m paranoid about ticks this year too. So limit the hiking/playing in grassy fields suggestions. Other than that…would love to hear what you’re doing!

Oh, and a diet suggestion that can help me lose 20 pounds by this weekend would be much appreciated? Thanks!

XOXO

-Amber

4 Responses to “Summer is here already? {yay & yikes!}”

  1. Judy May 23, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Okay, pal. You asked for it! There are a zillion things I would love to share. In fact, if we lived closer I would love to be your au pair for the summer!! I have been known to borrow neighborhood children for an afternoon just so I can do art projects with them. Let me know how much information/materials you want, and I will bring it on!!

  2. Lisa Lebovitz May 24, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    Friday pizza movie night! A fun way to end a hectic week. When our girls were little we introduced them to all the old classics like Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Oklahoma, The King and I, The princess Bride, Court Jester(Hilarious). Just the other day they were all home and were talking about what great memories they had of those old movies. In fact, even though they are all now 20 something,we decided to resurrect the old summer tradition a few times this year! Have a great summer

    • amberomega May 24, 2012 at 12:57 am #

      Old Movies…I love it! that is a great idea. thanks Lisa!

Leave a Reply

