10 down, 1 to go

1 Jul

Ten years ago today, we started on this journey.  He received his short white coat on Sunday, June 30, 2002 and medical school began the next day, July 1st. (Our first daughter was born a few weeks later.)

A decade behind us. Wow.

And now we are starting the homestretch.

One more year.

{I think I can…I think I can…}

We bought some bed sheets and cleaning supplies for his little bedroom apartment yesterday.

Today, he packed the essentials,

gave hugs and kisses to the kids and me, and then he left.

Headed 185 miles south on I-65.

It kinda felt like I was sending him off to college.

This all sounds much more dramatic than it actually is. We will see him next weekend. To the kids, it will probably seem like normal. But for me, I’ll watch some chick flicks and stay up late miss him terribly. No really, I will.

I love you Hayden. We can do this.

Call me when you get there.

6 Responses to “10 down, 1 to go”

  1. Judy July 1, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    Just as the 10 years have flown by so quickly, this last stretch will also whiz by. You are busy, brave, and beautiful!! You CAN do this 🙂

  2. Sara Beara :) July 2, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    Wow Amber! That is a LONG time! I had no idea! I thought he was already a doctor! Well, good thing he knew what he wanted to be during college, I just can’t imagine how anyone could become a doctor later in life? SOOO MANY YEARS of commitment/sacrifices/dedication! Congratulations to you too, for enduring/thriving during those TEN YEARS!! And having all your kids through it all! Wow! You guys are amazing!

    • amberomega July 2, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

      Sara Beara! So good to hear from you! Well, technically he is a doctor, he’s just still plugging away at training in his sub-specialty. And yes, it’s a long road, but it’s all part of our story. Wouldn’t have it any other way.

  3. ali July 2, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    I remember johnny and I getting married and them asking, how much longer… and it sounded like eternity when I said, MAYBE 7 if we’re lucky… now, I STILL call johnny every day to ask when he’s coming home (because we all know, we NEVER know) and he keeps reassuring me, “ali, the same time every day” (it’s not, never is, never will be)

    • amberomega July 2, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      I’m not fooling myself into thinking everything will be sunshine and rainbows in a year. But more than anything, I’m hoping to feel a little more “settled.” But, even with that, I know that no place is really permanent 🙂

Leave a Reply

